Dreaming of a Job

I have always found the idea of a voice to be unusually ironic. Everyone has one. Yet, people struggle to use it.

Today’s media strangles an unfathomable amount of power. By owning a present voice in society, an individual can accomplish nearly anything. That is precisely what Colin Cowherd has begun to master throughout the early half of his blossoming career. Anything.

Colin is currently a sports journalist for Fox Sports. As an avid sports fan, Colin preaches his opinions on sports, life and current events to a national audience daily. Every morning he heads to his office in downtown Los Angeles ready to debate hot topics. He likes to keep his mind sharp, and as a part-time radio talk show host, he recognizes the importance of maintaining a clear narrative.

As described in the article, Colin’s diligent work ethic stems “from a throat-clutching fear of being broke and a desire to be heard.” Amazingly enough, Colin has managed take his career from working as a play-by-play sports broadcaster for a minor league baseball team to one of the most polarizing and captivating sports journalists in the world.

It is not necessarily Colin’s specific job title that lures my interest. Rather, his ability to stimulate debate and ensure that his voice holds meaning is what connects with me. It is my dream to use my voice as a means of reform. Not only are sports my passion, but they also hold incredible life meaning. Sports has the tendency to bring us together or teach us valuable life lessons. Come to think of it now, I guess in a way Colin’s position in the sports universe as a columnist/radio personality actually does mirror my dream job.

But Colin is different from just any other sports journalist. By defying the odds and using his ambitious voice as a means of a stepping-stool, he created his own legacy. When I think about his journey I can envision myself following his footsteps. I can feel the work that I have put in towards owning an active voice in the community take form.

Yet, I still sense the anxious feelings that push me away. I fear the inability to reach the summit. What if I invest my entire life into trying to build a name so that I can own a voice and fall short like so many others.

As I think about Colin and his path to success, I begin to realize just how difficult the journey to the top is. Maybe this is why people struggle using their voices? Is it because they do not have a channel for being heard? It is this thought that pushes my mind. When I think about Colin Cowherd I will begin thinking about ways that I can expand my network to ensure that my voice is one day circulating through society.


Click here to get a glimpse of Colin’s career path as well as background in sports.

One thought on “Dreaming of a Job

  1. Hello there! This article couldn’t be written much better!

    Looking at this article reminds me of my previous roommate!

    He continually kept preaching about this. I’ll send this information to him.
    Pretty sure he’ll have a very good read. Thanks
    for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

